Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal winners of the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2021

The most prestigious international award in the field of architecture goes to the two French architects who founded Lacaton & Vassal Architectes in 1987.

French architects Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal are the winners of the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2021.

The most prestigious prize in architecture goes to a firm recognised for its radical reuse and sensitive transformation of existing spaces. Lacaton and Vassal are architects capable of renewing the modernist tradition in architecture and adapting it to the challenges of our time.

“The modernist hopes and dreams to improve the lives of many are reinvigorated through their work that responds to the climatic and ecological emergencies of our time, as well as social urgencies, particularly in the realm of urban housing,” said the Pritzker jury.

Founded in 1987, Lacaton & Vassal Architectes stands out for its design of private and social housing, cultural and academic institutions, public spaces, and urban developments.

Latest News

Latest on Domus

Read more
China Germany India Mexico, Central America and Caribbean Sri Lanka Korea icon-camera close icon-comments icon-down-sm icon-download icon-facebook icon-heart icon-heart icon-next-sm icon-next icon-pinterest icon-play icon-plus icon-prev-sm icon-prev Search icon-twitter icon-views icon-instagram